The other day, I was sitting in my Human Geography class, and I was suddenly hit by a brilliant idea, nay, a stroke of genius! I had invented a new game! Instead of the normal, two-player tic-tac-toe, I devised the dazzling 3-player tic-tac-toe! I call it: 3-Way Tic-Tac-Toe! Whoa, watch out! We’ve entered the realm of Divide by Zero! Too… much… epic!!!

 

ANYWAY, here’s the rules: instead of the normal two vertical parallel lines and two horizontal parallel lines, you have three each way. A player can be Xs, Os, or check marks, and take turns in that order. Instead of trying to get 4 in a row (I’ve tried, and believe me, no one will win), you try to get 3 in a row, just like normal tic-tac-toe. There are two versions of 3-Way Tic-Tac-Toe, classic rules or the point system. In classic rules, the first person to have 3 in a row wins. In the point system, you keep filling the board until there are no spaces left, and then whoever has the most 3-in-a-rows wins. It is an automatic win, however, if a player does happen to get 4 in a row. 2nd and 3rd places are determined by how many 3-in-a-rows they have on the board.

 

I developed these rules when playing by myself (I’m not pathetic; I was in class!), and I just keep forgetting to try playing it with my friends. But what’s great is that I wasn’t getting cat’s games when playing against myself, which is something you can’t avoid when you play normal tic-tac-toe. So try this game out and let me know how it works for you! The only drawback is that you have to have more than one friend. Let me know how that goes, too.