Hey, it’s Valentine’s Day, so you know what that means! A whole day filled with lonely longing for a “be mine,” jealously watching that pretty blond get that stupid, cheesy-looking Valentine’s Day card from that super-hot guy, and holding your own, personal pity-party killing aliens in front of your TV (this works so much better than ice cream).

 

Okay, Valentine’s Day isn’t that bad. I’ve pretty much accepted by now that I just haven’t met the right guy. Today, I feel confident that I won’t get too annoyed over seeing someone obviously less attractive than me spend this special day with her gorgeous boyfriend.

 

 

Ahem, anyway, I thought Valentine’s Day might be a good day to discuss everyone’s video game crushes. I searched the Internets to find out who most gamers view as the top 10 hottest video game characters. After clicking on a page that lead me immediately to scantily clad digital women, I figured that I’d start over with the word “guy” in the search bar. Sorry guys, I’m not interested in turning this into a post with nothing but eye candy for men. You know how video game women are; even in the dead of winter, they’ll wear nothing but a bikini, no sweat (literally, hehe). Video game developers seem to think that a girl’s skin is more insulated than a polar bear with central heating.

 

Anyway, I visited blogs, forums, articles, and videos, even enduring a couple of those poorly made youtube AMVs, to discover the Internet’s view of the top 10 hottest video game guys.

10. Number 10 is the mysterious Auron from Final Fantasy. Actually, I have no idea if he is mysterious or not, because I’ve never played FF for more than half an hour. I just don’t like the fighting style. Also, I’m a fan of awesome video game plot lines, but when it takes up most of the time, I have a problem. I’ve seen this guy around, though, and I’ve always thought he looks cool and mysterious. I have to hand it to this series; they really know how to attract the female crowd. Anyway, if you’re a fan of Final Fantasy, you’re in luck, because there will be a lot more of it coming up.

 

 

9. Next up is the good-looking Balthier–also from Final Fantasy. If this were my list, I would place him higher out of these ten, but whatever. The people have spoken. I don’t like his shoes, though. They make him look like a 15th century jester. And what’s he doing with his hand? Is his finger broken or is he beckoning the viewer to come closer? Kind of weird… And don’t even get me started on his tight pants.

 

8. Now that’s hot. Looks like the Internet actually has good taste for once. This is Leon Kennedy from Resident Evil, which I also haven’t played. I like the little emo hair look he’s got going there. I dig guys with emo hair (not to be confused with actual emos; I just like the hair).

 


 

7. Coming in way too high on this list at number 7, we have Tidus from Final Fantasy (yes, again). No, he’s not gay. And… That’s all I wanted to say about him (not a big fan).

 

 

 

6. This is Snake from Metal Gear Solid–yet another game I haven’t played. Hmm, I should start playing some of these games if they’ve got such hot guys. Snake always reminded me of Sam Fisher from Splinter Cell, so I’ve grown to have a deep respect for the Metal Gear Solid series. That’s on my list of things to play on a rainy day.

 

 

 

5. Yet again, another Final Fantasy character. This one is Sephiroth, the evil villain dude who does dastardly deeds. Every girl falls for the bad boy, so it’s not that surprising that an antagonist would make the list. What I can’t understand is the reason our number 5 looks like he’s never heard of Super Cuts! I mean, I like guys with long hair, but dang! He’s like a freaking male Rapunzel!

 

4. This handsome young man is Squall from, you guessed it, Final Fantasy. Check out that awesome gun sword! Does it shoot blades? Or does he have to pull the trigger to swing it? I don’t know, I’m not a Final Fantasy person.

 

 

 

3. Now this is an attractive person. I’ve always had a crush on the characters with the white hair (except for Sephiroth; the only thing more ridiculous than the length of his hair is the length of his sword). I don’t know what it is about it, but I love that white hair. Plus, it’s an emo cut! Yay!

Anyway, the awesome white hair belongs to Dante from Devil May Cry and guess what? I haven’t played it. Now that I’ve seen this white-haired wonder, maybe I’ll pick it up.

 

 

2. Since there seems to be so many Final Fantasy fans, of course Cloud would make the list. From his golden spikes to his chiseled abs, this is one hot cartoon. One sad thing about him, though: I heard he never smiles. Aww, cheer up, Cloud! You’re good-looking, and all the girls love you!

 

 

 

1. I am glad that the character in first place is deserving of such a title. Now, the hero of Hyrule can happily roam the roads of Castle Town knowing that not only did he save a princess as well as the whole world, but he is also the hottest guy the video game industry has to offer. I’m sure Zelda’s pretty psyched about it, too.

In case you didn’t know, this is Link from The Legend of Zelda. And yes, I have played this one.

 

 

So there you have it: the 10 video game guys worth having a crush on, according to the Internet. Now it’s your turn to post who you think should or shouldn’t have made the list.

 

And in case you’re at all curious, here’s my top 5:

1. Altair from Assassin’s Creed

2. Link from The Legend of Zelda

3. Carth from Knights of the Old Republic

4. Sam Fisher from Splinter Cell

5. Pit from Super Smash Bros. (it’s the wings)

 

Oh yeah, there’s one more thing I wanted to add. Some Japanese guy actually married a video game character. Crushes are one thing, but that’s definitely taking it too far. For a link to the video, click here.

